Lexie Williams: A Well-Rounded Fellow

  1. What brought you to NIU?

At first, NIU was my last choice for a college. LexieHowever, once I started narrowing down my options, it moved to the top for various reasons: the Honors Program, New Hall (who doesn’t want a private bedroom and semi-private bathroom?!), and pre-admission to the nursing program. The biggest reason was honestly the cost, due to the scholarships I’d been offered. Looking back on my experiences thus far, I definitely wouldn’t change my decision. I’ve met so many amazing people and been offered opportunities that I couldn’t have gotten anywhere else. I always like to tell people that while the university is very large and overwhelming, it’s made up of many small “communiversities” that cater to every student. I truly hope everyone who comes here is able to find their niche and thrive.

  1. What do you think the Honors Program has done for you in your time at NIU?

The Honors Program has single-handedly supported my college endeavors. My freshman year, I lived in the Honors House. From there, I received the position as Honors House Leader during my sophomore year. Between my sophomore and junior years, I was selected as a McKearn Summer Fellow. My junior year, I was an Honors Fellow, in charge of recruitment and advising. This year, I am the Lead Honors Fellow, where I help the other fellows with their tasks, advise current and new students, and plan the Spring Student Symposium (which is a research conference that you’ll all be hearing more about SOON!).

  1. When you’re not on campus, what can we find you doing?

When I’m not on campus (which is not often), you can find me hanging out at my apartment and studying (I live on the edge). When I’m not studying though, you can find me playing Xbox and Playstation games- my current favorite is Rocket League. I highly recommend it, because you play soccer with cars and it’s awesome.

  1. What would you say describes your perfect day?

My perfect day is one spent with my family and/or friends, just hanging out and enjoying the beautiful fall weather. I really enjoy trying out new restaurants, so an even more ideal day would just be one where I get to eat constantly.

  1. Summarize your time at NIU in 5 words.

The opportunities just keep coming.

I am so very thankful.

(This is more than five..

My math must be off.)

 

Leave a comment