Wataru Hashimoto: The Globetrotter

  1. What brought you to NIU?Wataru Hashimoto

I used to live in Buffalo Grove and attend Stevenson High School. Since so many people in
SHS apply to University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, I was looking for a college that many people were not applying to. Then I found NIU, which was close to my father’s work place and sister’s college, therefore, I decided to apply to this college. Now, I am enjoying it!

  1. How have you gotten involved on campus?

Since I could not join many organizations when I was in high school due to the late enrollment, I actively sought out programs. So far, I am involved in McKearn Fellows, a Research Rookies peer mentoring, Themed Learning Community Peer leader, Japanese Native Speaker for Foreign Language Residency Program, Member of PROMISE Scholars, President for Society of Physics Students, Member of honors program, Member of Undergraduate Student Council. Also, I have already presented my research in variety of places, such as National Conference for Undergraduate Research, TLC institute, Undergraduate Research and Artistry day, and Summer Research Symposium.

  1. When you’re not on campus, what can we find you doing?

I enjoy playing table tennis, read online fantasy novels, play games with my friends (both video games and physical games) and find out how daily phenomena and technology works.

  1. What would you say would describe your perfect day?

My perfect day would be waking up in the morning at 5 or 6 am, going for quick jog or biking. Then I’d look around my room, find something that interests me, and find out how that thing/phenomenon works. After that I’d eat, go to school, take class and chat with my friends and sleep. Learning and conversing with people is my biggest joy, so my perfect day would be full of conversations, discoveries, and smiles.

  1. Summarize your time at NIU in 5 words.

Fun, challenges, friends, physics, laughter

Leave a Reply

