Steve Uhren: the Bow Tie Wearing New Guy

  1. What do you do for fun?Steven Uhren

Currently, I am enjoying setting up my plans and itinerary for a 5-day backpacking trip to the Porcupine Mountains. Asides from that, in the short term I thoroughly enjoy ‘hanging out’ in my hammock with my kindle.

2. How are you connected to the Honors Program?

I am an alum from NIU and the University Honors Program. I currently serve as the Acting Assistant Director of Programming for the Honors Program.

3. What’re you most proud of?

I am proud of the fact that I was able to put myself in a competitive position to pursue graduate school work, while having my own business and a family.

4. Describe your perfect dream.

Living minimally with my family in one of those $20,000 houses that you see on ‘Tiny House Nation’ near Havasu Falls, Arizona. More importantly, we would be self-sustaining. And when we got bored of that, we would backpack the world.

5. Any pets?  If no, what pet would you like and what would you name it?

Two cats. Names: Hobbes (after the comic strip tiger from Calvin and Hobbes) and Lou-Cat (named after Lou-Dog).

Leave a Reply

