2015: How Was Your Year?

My friends, family, and I have been discussing our experiences throughout 2015, including ones we have gone through together, quite a bit recently. It seems that everyone’s attitudes about the year as a whole are somewhat mixed. For me, 2015 could be one of the best years I have ever had. For some of my friends, they claim it was one of their worst. I believe that one’s feelings about the year has to do with factors they control as much as factors that they cannot control. Obviously one cannot control something tragic such as losing a family member, but one can control (to a degree) their attitudes and what they make of their days.

I told myself at the beginning of the year that 2015 would be a year of transformation and self-discovery for me. I felt refreshed and ready to make the most I could out of the year. I started my journey right away: on New Year’s Day I began talking to a girl who would end up becoming a close friend of mine as the year went on. I spent more time with various friends when I was free, and this led to the strengthening of several friendships. In the springtime, I co-founded a group for car enthusiasts, and this led to the formation of even more friendships. I have never been shy when it comes to talking to people, but I made more new friends in 2015 than I have in quite a while.

I worked over the summer for my town’s park district as a camp counselor, a job I absolutely adore. This was my second summer working there, and the experience aided me in realizing that I belong in Elementary Education. This was a pivotal moment for me in 2015. I declared this as my major in early November, and it feels great to finally have a major decided (and one that I am excited about as well!). Even though working took up most of my time during the summer, every day was a fun adventure, so I did not mind.

I do not mean to write a biography, but the point I’m trying to make is that I feel I unknowingly set a goal for myself at the beginning of the year. When I reminisce and reflect, I feel confident that I met that goal. There were rough spots throughout the year, but these will always occur. 2015 has inspired me to keep going, to keep trying to make the most out of life that I can. Perhaps if I set a goal of having a transformative year every year, I will continue to have many pleasant memories to look back on. The year has flown by, and here we are about to dive in to the New Year. I hope everyone is excited and ready!

-Alex Nash

Leave a Reply

